Artwork for podcast Catholic Foundation Library
CFL 1: Introduction to the Four Senses
Episode 19th January 2021 • Catholic Foundation Library • Michael Joseph Mouawad
00:00:00 01:07:55

Share Episode


Catholic Foundation Library #1

According to an ancient tradition, one can distinguish between two senses of Scripture: the literal and the spiritual, the latter being subdivided into the allegorical, moral, and anagogical senses.

"The  profound concordance of the four senses guarantees all its richness to  the living reading of Scripture in the Church." So says the Catechism of,  the Catholic Church in paragraph 115.

In this talk, we learn about the literal and the spiritual senses of Scripture and we begin to understand how we need to use the four senses in order to read Scripture according to the mind of the Church.


  • The importance of the literal sense cannot be underestimated. Find out why.
  • Is the literal sense the same thing as the word-for-word meaning? It all depends.
  • The spiritual sense is divided into three senses. Learn what they are.