Artwork for podcast The Filipino American Woman Project
152: "We are redefining what it means to be Pinay. We are the ones that have the power to shift culture." Presenting THENEWFILIPINA.COM with Jen and Nani
Episode 1420th January 2023 • The Filipino American Woman Project • Jen Amos
00:00:00 01:02:54

Share Episode

Shownotes

152: "We are redefining what it means to be Pinay. We are the ones that have the power to shift culture." Presenting THENEWFILIPINA.COM with Jen and Nani

HAPPY NEW YEAR! Jen and Nani are back with holiday season reflections and 2023 major updates for our community! They share why this is the first episode they've published in the new year, updates on their YouTube channel, when their monthly Instagram Live events and monthly book club sessions will be taking place, and lastly, they proudly present their new online home: THENEWFILIPINA.COM.

This conversation is also available on YouTube: https://youtu.be/z0qxVmU-krw

IMPORTANT: If you are a current Discord Member, BUYUSBOBA.COM Supporter or Member, we will be personally reaching out (if we haven't already) to show you how to join our new community.

Major Updates:

Monthly Events:

  • Jen & Nani Unfiltered Instagram Live Show - Every 1st Friday of the month @ 12 PM (PST) / 1 PM (MST) / 2 PM (CST) / 3 PM (EST) via Instagram Live @thefilipinoamericanwoman
  • Let's talk ASSERTIVENESS with Dr. Abby - Every 2nd Tuesday of the month @ 7 PM (PST) / 8 PM (MST) / 9 PM (CST) / 10 PM (EST) via Instagram Live @thefilipinoamericanwoman
  • Tsismis with Jen and Nani Book Club - Every 3rd Friday of the month @ 12 PM (PST) / 1 PM (MST) / 2 PM (CST) / 3 PM (EST). First-Time Members can join today at https://bit.ly/tnf-book-club

Read our latest newsletter, published Tuesday, January 17th, 2023: https://mailchi.mp/8bc8573f0e4d/tfawproject

--

WANT MORE FROM OUR SHOW? Join our *NEW* online community that offers daily conversation, book club sessions, and the Tsismis with Jen and Nani Private Podcast at http://thenewfilipina.com/

NEWSLETTER: Receive the latest stories, updates and media coverage by subscribing to our FREE newsletter: http://eepurl.com/cO0bif

ABOUT US: Welcome to the Filipino American Woman Project - A Podcast Show that shares stories and life lessons told by individuals living (or have lived) in America, that are of Filipino descent and are cisgender female. For Season 4, Jen and Nani pivot the show to focus on their journey as podcasters, content creators, and entrepreneurs -- with a focus on advocating for Filipino American women storytellers and authors.

UPCOMING BOOK: Special thanks to the Bulosan Center for Filipino Studies at UC Davis for the opportunity to present our academic paper, Pinay Podcasters: Building a Self-Sustaining Community Through Storytelling, Collective Healing & Learning, and Collaboration. The initial draft is now available! Read more at http://pinaypodcasters.com/

RECOGNITION: In December 2020 and December 2021, we received an Honorable Mention at the Asian American Podcaster's Golden Crane Podcast Awards. August 2020, Jen Amos participated as a speaker on behalf of TFAW Project for PodFest Global, which now holds the GUINNESS WORLD RECORDS™ title for Largest Attendance for a Virtual Podcasting Conference in One Week. May 2020, we were recognized as “Amplifying Asian Women Voices” on Spotify during AAPI Heritage Month.

We've also been featured in Realtime Community Oakland, Mochi Magazine, Ossa Collective, SUPERBANDS, Chopsticks Alley, FoundHer by Entrepinayship, Spotify, PodFest Expo, Philippine American Foundation for Charities, When In Manila, You Are Collect;ve, San Diego Union Tribune, NBC 7 San Diego, and much more! Read more at: https://linktr.ee/tfawproject.featured

CONNECT WITH US: Instagram @thefilipinoamericanwoman, Facebook @thefilipinoamericanwoman, Twitter @thefilamwoman, YouTube @thefilipinoamericanwomanpr234

Learn more about our co-hosts Jen at https://linktr.ee/thejenamos and Nani at https://notesbynani.com/

Have something to share? Email Jen at jen@tfawproject.com or Nani at nani@tfawproject.com or leave us a voice or text message at 415-484-TFAW(8329)