Artwork for podcast The Book of Leviticus
Leviticus 03
Episode 31st February 2021 • The Book of Leviticus • Michael Joseph Mouawad
00:00:00 01:21:09

Share Episode


Book of Leviticus #3

The Minha and the Zevah are the two other offerings that are not intended for the expiation of guilt. Together with the Olah, they are the prefiguration of the sacrificial offering of the Mass.

If the whole-burnt offering (Olah) is meant to make the offerer acceptable in the sight of God, then the Minhah, a most sacred offering, is a tribute to God, a sacrificial gift which is brought by the offerer who presents it to the priest. The priest then delivers it to the altar, much like the presentation of the gifts during the Mass. 

The Peace Offering (Zevah) is the third most holy offering in which sections of the sacrifice were shared by the priests and donors of the offering, but this sharing could only take place after God's share had been offered to him on the altar. Thus, the Zevah reminds us of the Consecration during Mass, where the priest and the congregation partake of the Eucharist after it has been offered. 

Once, St. Teresa was overwhelmed with God's Goodness and asked Our Lord "How can I thank you?" Our Lord replied, "ATTEND ONE MASS."

The Olah is Christ, who offered himself as a whole burnt offering for our sake. It is also Baptism, where we die to be born to a new life. The Minhah has become the presentation of the gifts and the Shelamim the Eucharistic meal. Thus, Leviticus was and is still is the promise of better things to come, the symbol of the Liturgy, the greatest act of love and worship we can offer the Trinity.